金融科技促進辦公室

金管局於2016年3月成立金融科技促進辦公室(FFO),以促進香港金融科技業的穩健發展,並推動香港成為亞洲區的金融科技樞紐。FFO會擔當:

  • 「推動者」角色,推動業界研究金融科技方案的潛在應用性及風險;
  • 「平台」角色,讓主要持份者交流創新金融科技項目,以及舉辦外展活動;
  • 「橋樑」角色,成為市場人士與金管局內的監管人員之間的聯繫人;以及
  • 「促進者」角色,培育香港金融科技專才。

金管局對金融科技的立場

  • 作為監管機構,金管局支持金融業使用新科技及創新。
  • 在金融科技發展過程中,金管局致力維持創新所需要的靈活性,同時確保消費者權益得到妥善保障。
  • 在監管上,金管局採用「風險為本」和「科技中立」為原則。即是說,金管局在制定和執行監管框架和規範時,只會根據金融活動或交易的本質和衍生的風險作為基礎,並不會因為採用新的科技而作出不合理的豁免或要求。
  • 在制定合適的監管框架和規範時,金管局會評估不同金融科技和產品的性質,包括其優劣、風險、法律及管控原則等。金管局亦會繼續和業界及各地監管機構保持交流,並不時檢討現行政策。

本地及國際合作

  • 與應科院 、數碼港、科技園簽訂合作備忘錄

金管局於2016年11月分別與應科院、數碼港、科技園簽訂合作備忘錄,促進金融科技在港的穩健發展。

  • 與英國金融行為監管局簽署合作協議

金管局和英國金融行為監管局(FCA)於2016年12月訂立《合作協議》,促進兩間監管機構合作推動金融創新。金管局和FCA會在多方面緊密合作,包括金融科技公司轉介、聯合創新項目、資訊交流、經驗共享及員工借調計劃,藉以促進香港及英國的金融創新。

  • 與深圳金融發展服務辦公室(金融辦)合作

金管局與深圳金融辦同意加強兩地合作,為銀行及金融機構在應用金融科技方面,提供更有利發展的環境,合作項目包括:為金融科技公司提供軟落地支援、為香港大學生提供實習職位及舉辦大型金融科技活動等。

除了與FCA和金融辦合作,FFO亦一直積極參與其他中央銀行和國際組織在金融科技上的發展。例如,FFO和亞洲開發銀行曾在2017年1月共同合作,為柬埔寨、老撾、越南及泰國的監管機構舉辦金融科技工作坊。此外,FFO正與多個地區的監管機構探討合作方向,並有一位德國監管機構的員工正在FFO交流工作。

The Fintech Facilitation Office (FFO)

The FFO was set up in March 2016 to facilitate the healthy development of the fintech ecosystem in Hong Kong and to promote Hong Kong as a fintech hub in Asia. Among other things, the new office acts as -

  • an initiator of industry research in potential application and risks of fintech solutions;
  • a platform for exchanging ideas of innovative fintech initiatives among key stakeholders and conducting outreaching activities;
  • an interface between market participants and regulators within the HKMA; and
  • a facilitator to nurture talents to meet the growing needs of fintech in Hong Kong.

HKMA’s general stance on fintech

  • The HKMA, as a regulatory authority, stands ready to embrace technology and changes that emerge in the course of fintech development.
  • We have always put great efforts in striking a right balance between retaining appropriate flexibility for innovations, while making sure that customer interests are properly safeguarded during the course of fintech development.
  • Specifically, the HKMA adopts a risk-based and technology-neutral approach in its supervision. This means that when developing and implementing regulatory framework and requirements, we will only base on the intrinsic characteristics of the financial activities or transactions, and the risks arising from them.
  • As a central bank and a regulatory authority, the HKMA would thoroughly assess the nature of different fintech services and products, their benefits, risks, legal and control implications, when developing corresponding regulatory frameworks and standards. We would also maintain close contacts with the industry and regulators in other jurisdictions, and review, whether any of those developments calls for a revision of the existing regulations.

Collaboration

  • MoU signing with ASTRI, Cyberport and Hong Kong Science and Technology Parks

The HKMA signed bilateral MoU with ASTRI, Cyberport, and the Hong Kong Science and Technology Parks in November 2016 to formalise the framework of cooperation in facilitating the development of the local fintech industry.

  • Co-operation Agreement signing with the United Kingdom’s Financial Conduct Authority

The HKMA entered into a Co-operation Agreement with the United Kingdom’s Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) in December 2016 to foster collaboration between the two regulatory authorities in promoting financial innovation. The two authorities will explore collaboration on a number of areas such as referrals of fintech firms, joint innovation projects, information exchange, experience sharing and secondment, in order to facilitate financial innovation in the two jurisdictions.

  • Co-operation with the Office of Financial Development Service of Shenzhen

The HKMA and the Office of Financial Development Service of Shenzhen Municipality (OFDS) agreed to strengthen co-operation between the two cities to create a more favourable environment for the development and use of fintech. In particular, it was agreed to provide reciprocal soft-landing support for fintech firms, offer internship opportunities for students in Hong Kong and organise fintech events.

Apart from collaborating with FCA, the FFO has been actively engaging other central banks and international associations on fintech development. For instance, the FFO worked with ADB in January 2017 to organise a fintech workshop for regulators from Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam and Thailand. Besides, the FFO is exploring with Luxemburg on possible collaborating initiatives; and Germany on a potential fintech related staff exchange program.