金管局-应科院金融科技创新中心

FFO于2016年9月宣布与应科院设立金融科技创新中心,旨在为金融科技业界提供一个中立场所,让各方合作一同创新。中心配备软硬件资源及专家支援,让不同的业界机构,如银行、支付服务供应商、金融科技初创企业及本局等,试验及评估不同的金融科技技术,并进行概念认证测试。

创新中心部分主要项目包括:

测试需要多方参与或操作的技术;

展示需运用大量电脑资源的金融科技技术;

促进受监管的机构与金管局就新兴技术的对话,并可于研发工作的初段,就某项新技术或技术方案向金管局寻求意见;

测试金管局可能采用的技术,以提升金管局监管工作的效率及成效;及

举办培训课程让业界了解不同金融科技技术。

至2017年6月底,除了3项由5间银行主导的DLT概念认证测试外,另外亦有4个其他项目(牵涉5间银行和3间科技公司)利用中心开发和作展示,牵涉光学字元识别、分布式分类帐技术、软令牌认证及贸易融资。

有科技公司利用中心向银行提供有关人工智能的技术工作坊,广受欢迎,其他科技公司亦将于中心举办同类工作坊。

金融科技监管沙盒  ( 「沙盒」 )

金管局于2016年9月推出金融科技监管沙盒,以便银行在全面推出其金融科技及其他科技项目前可先进行试用。沙盒容许银行在可控的环境内进行测试,期间可毋须完全符合金管局一般的监管规定,有助认可机构更易收集金融科技产品或服务的实际数据及用户意见,从而作出适当改进。

按此了解更多有关沙盒详情。

 

 

业界调查

FFO在2016年第四季对本地金融科技公司、银行和储值支付工具持牌人进行调查,以收集关于金融科技业发展及相关监管问题的意见和建议。 FFO随后亦与受访者深入讨论其意见,并与金管局内有关部门跟进。

与监管者对话

FFO也不时举办非正式的「与监管者对话」环节,向金融科技初创企业分享监管要求及政策立场。

HKMA-ASTRI Fintech Innovation Hub (Hub)

The Hub was announced by the FFO in September 2016. It is intended to be a neutral ground of the fintech industry, a place where various stakeholders can collaborate to innovate. It is equipped with hardware, software and experts to enable industry players, such as banks, payment service providers, fintech start-ups and the HKMA, etc. to try out and evaluate new fintech solutions and conduct proof-of-concept trials.

Some major activities supported by the Hub include –

testing solutions which require interoperability or interconnectedness among multiple banks, SVF licensees or other parties;

demonstrating fintech solutions which require substantial computing resources;

holding dialogues between the regulatees and the HKMA and seeking inputs or feedback on a new technology or technological solution from the HKMA at an early stage;

testing solutions that may be adopted by the HKMA to enhance its efficiency and efficacy of its supervisory duties; and

organising training sessions for the industry to learn about various fintech solutions.

As of end-June 2017, other than the 3 DLT proof-of-concept trials (by 5 banks), another 4 projects (5 banks and 3 technology firms) had used the Hub for developments and demonstration of fintech solutions such as optical character recognition, distributed ledger technology, soft-token authentication and trade finance.

A technology firm has also made use of the hub to provide technical workshops on artificial intelligence to banks. The workshops received overwhelming response and similar workshops will be held by other technology firms.

The Fintech Supervisory Sandbox (FSS)

The FSS policy arrangement was launched by the HKMA in September 2016 to facilitate the pilot trials of fintech and other technology initiatives of Authorized Institutions (AIs) before they are launched on a fuller scale.

The policy enables AIs to conduct pilot trials of their initiatives in a controlled environment without the need to achieve full compliance with the HKMA’s usual supervisory requirements. Real-life data and user feedback on new fintech products or services can therefore be gathered more easily and refinements can be made as appropriate.

For more detailed information about the FSS, click here.

 

 

Industry Survey

As part of FFO’s on-going efforts to engage the fintech industry, a survey was conducted among local fintech firms, banks and SVF licensees in the fourth quarter of 2016 to collect views and suggestions on the development of the local fintech industry and related regulatory issues. The FFO discussed with the respondents on their views expressed and followed up with the relevant regulatory teams within the HKMA.

Regulatory dialogues

Informal thematic “regulatory dialogues” sessions are held from time to time to share regulatory requirements and policy stance to fintech start-ups.