貿易融資

由金管局主導的DLT貿易融資概念驗證項目早前取得成功之後,7家本地銀行將利用成果搭建名為「香港貿易融資平台」的系統,將貿易文件數碼化,讓參與機構分享所需資料和數據、自動化流程、並減低人為失誤和詐騙的風險。

緊接其後,金管局和新加坡金融管理局(新加坡金管局)於2017年11月簽署及交換《諒解備忘錄》,合作開發「全球貿易連接網絡」,運用DLT技術搭建一個跨境資訊交換渠道,把新加坡的「全國貿易平台」和「香港貿易融資平台」連接起來,使貿易及貿易融資業務數碼化,提高安全性、效率和降低成本。金管局和新加坡金管局正在邀請其他市場參與「全球貿易連接網絡」。

開放應用程式介面 (Open Application Programming Interface, API)

開放應用程式介面(開放API)是指金融機構開放內部系統及資料,讓第三方服務提供者有系統地以程式讀取。開放 API有效實施之後,不同銀行的產品和服務資料就能匯合到同一個網站/應用程式上,方便用家比較和進行財務規劃。新服務提供者也可利用已開放的資料提供獨特的產品和嶄新的用戶體驗。 

爲了促進業界研發及提供開放API,金管局於2018年1至3月就草擬的開放API框架進行公眾諮詢,並在完成諮詢後,於2018年7月18日發出正式框架。金管局預期銀行將由2019年起分4階段實施開放API。按此處參閲有關實施階段的更多資訊。

 

分布式分類帳技術 (Distributed Ledger Technology, DLT)

金管局較早前委託了香港應用科技研究院(應科院)進行DLT專項研究。首階段研究已經完成並在2016年11月以白皮書的形式發表。該報告探討了DLT在金融服務的潛在應用及困難,例如良好管治和監測機制的確立、跨國應用在法律上的可執行性、在缺乏中央管理機構責任釐清和糾紛調解機制,以及在數據共享和不變性的前提下如何保護個人資料。請按此處下載第一份白皮書(只備英文版本)。

金管局在2017年10月發表了第二份白皮書,公布專項研究第二階段的成果,確認DLT的發展潛力,但同時指出DLT並不能通盤適用於所有金融業務。第二份白皮書藉專家所提出的意見,探討了銀行業及支付業應用DLT技術時管治和管控方面的重要原則、常見的法律及合規問題,以及相應的解決方案。白皮書亦深入探討了多項「概念驗證」,包括貿易融資業務、電子身份管理、按揭業務,並評估部分概念投入實際運作的可行性。請按此處下載第二份白皮書(只備英文版本)。

網絡防衛計劃 (Cybersecurity Fortification Initiative)

「網絡防衛計劃」為金管局首個金融科技項目,旨在提升銀行體系的網絡防衛能力。計劃下的三大支柱已經於2016年12月全面落實:

1. 「網絡防衛評估框架」(C-RAF) – 為銀行設定一套共通、「風險為本」的框架,以及模擬測試框架;

2. 「專業培訓計劃」 (PDP) – 提供與C-RAF相關的網絡安全培訓和認證計劃;及

3. 「網絡風險資訊共享平台」(CISP) – 有助銀行之間分享網絡安全的情報。

在分階段實施過程中,首批30間銀行已經於2017年9月完成評估,並會於2018年中旬完成模擬測試。在第二階段時其餘銀行亦預計須於2018年底完成有關的評估工作。

行業專家小組已經為PDP編制出一份同等資歷名單,以使網絡安全領域的相關或相等的經驗和專業知識得到適當認可。另外,香港銀行學會亦已啓動了PDP的培訓和考核。

網絡風險資訊共享平台的首個版本已於2016年12月開始運作。所有銀行現在可以讀取並藉平台分享網絡安全情報。平台的營運商將會定期更新和加強平台功能。

央行數碼貨幣  ( CBDC )  研究

金管局聯同三間發鈔銀行、香港銀行同業結算有限公司,以及R3聯盟,就央行發行的數碼貨幣展開研究。此研究希望透過探討數碼貨幣應用於銀行同業間支付、企業間支付、以及以貨銀兩訖方式結算證券等用途,進一步了解其可行性和利弊。目前,有部分中央銀行正在積極探討及硏究使用分布式分類帳技術發行數碼貨幣。金管局正密切關注這些研究的結果,同時進行内部研究。

Trade Finance

Riding on the earlier success on the distributed ledger technology (DLT) proof-of-concept work on trade finance led by the HKMA, seven banks in Hong Kong decided to commercialise the prototype into a production system named Hong Kong Trade Finance Platform (HKTFP) to digitise and share trade documents, automate processes and reduce risks and fraud.

As a follow-up, the HKMA signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) in November 2017 to jointly build the Global Trade Connectivity Network (GTCN). GTCN will connect Singapore’s National Trade Platform with the HKTFP to form a cross-border DLT infrastructure in order to digitalise cross-border trade and trade finance processes, and make them safer, more efficient and cost-effective. The HKMA and MAS are exploring with other jurisdictions on their interest in participating in the GTCN.

Open Application Programming Interface (Open API)

Open API allows financial institutions to open up their internal IT systems and data for programmatic access by third party service providers or its counterparts in an open and documented manner. Effective implementation of Open API will enable, for example, information of different banks’ products and services to be aggregated under the same website/app for comparison and financial planning by users with ease. New service providers may also make use of the open information to offer unique products and new customer experience.

To facilitate the development and adoption of Open API by the banking sector, the HKMA published an Open API Framework on 18 July 2018 following the completion of a public consultation from January to March 2018. Banks are expected to implement Open APIs in four phases starting from 2019. Click here for more information about the implementation phases.

 

Distributed Ledger Technology (DLT) Research Studies

The HKMA launched a comprehensive research on DLT. The Hong Kong Applied Science and Technology Research Institute (ASTRI) was commissioned for the first stage research and published a whitepaper in November 2016. The Whitepaper discusses the potentials of DLT for the financial services and identified some possible challenges related to governance, risk management, compliance, legal issues and the actual deployment of DLT solutions. Click here to download the first Whitepaper.

In October 2017, the HKMA published Whitepaper 2.0 on DLT to deliver the results of the second stage of the research. The second Whitepaper confirms the promising nature of DLT while acknowledging that DLT is not a universal solution for all financial applications. It also addresses governance, legal and compliance implications and general control principles for DLT for the banking and payment industry, and offers corresponding advice from experts. The second Whitepaper delivers more detailed findings from the three proof-of-concept trials, namely trade finance, digital ID management and mortgage loan applications, along with assessment on whether some of these works can be put into action. Click here to download the second Whitepaper.

Cybersecurity Fortification Initiative (CFI)

As the HKMA’s first fintech initiative, the CFI was fully rolled out in December 2016. The CFI aims to raise the cyber resilience of our banking system, and is underpinned by three pillars:

I. A Cyber Resilience Assessment Framework (C-RAF) to establish a common risk assessment and simulation testing framework for banks;

II. A Professional Development Programme (PDP) to offer trainings and qualification certifications in cybersecurity for assessment and testing under C-RAF; and

III. A Cyber Intelligence Sharing Platform (CISP) to facilitate sharing of cybersecurity intelligence.

The C-RAF is being implemented by batches. The first batch of 30 Authorized Institutions (AIs) completed the assessment in September 2017 and will complete the simulation test by mid-2018. All the remaining AIs will be expected to complete the assessment by end-2018 in the second phase.

An industry expert panel was formed to identify a list of equivalent qualifications for the PDP, recognising relevant or equivalent experience and expertise in the cybersecurity field. Meanwhile, the Hong Kong Institute of Bankers is the first organisation to deliver relevant PDP training and examination.

The first version of the CISP was launched in December 2016. All banks can now access and share their cybersecurity intelligence on the platform. The operator of the CISP will periodically update and enhance its functionality.

Central Bank Digital Currency (CBDC) Research Studies

In collaboration with the three note-issuing banks, the Hong Kong Interbank Clearing Limited and the R3 consortium, the HKMA has commenced a study on Central Bank Digital Currency (CBDC) using DLT with a view to better understanding its feasibility, implications and possible benefits through exploring its use in domestic inter-bank payments, corporate payments at wholesale level and delivery-versus-payment debt securities settlement. A number of other central banks are also actively exploring and conducting research on the issuance of CBDC using DLT. The HKMA is monitoring the results of such studies while conducting its own work.